Back to All Events

WAC 2015 Open Call

The WAC Awards is an open competition for contemporary visual art that is gaining praise and respect in Britain and abroad. It was established only four years ago by a group of artists and their friends  in Wells, the cathedral city in South-West England. But a notion that came to life around kitchen and dining tables has already established a strong presence in the London art world and is drawing artists from places as diverse as Australia, Azerbaijan, India, Italy, Korea, Japan and the United States, as well as all over Britain. The most cited reasons for this rapid success are the quality of the artists who enter, the prestige of the judges and the attraction of the prizes. 

WAC 2015 prizes

The 45 Park Lane Art Prize gives the overall winner a 10-day solo exhibition in London including an opening night reception/private view with invited press and an overnight stay at  45 Park Lane Hotel, in Mayfair, London, 

R K Harrison Prize   £1000

Wells Art Contemporary Prize  £500

The People’s Choice   £250

Entries can be in any media, including painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, video and graphics. There are no size restrictions. Up to 100 works will be selection for exhibition in the Wells and Mendip Museum. It faces Wells Cathedral, which is visited by some 300,000 people a year.

Entries open   May 5

Entries close   September 3

Shortlist announced   September 13

Wells exhibition   October 9 -25

WAC2015 judges

Mariele Neudecker Sculptor and multimedia artist

Donald Smith Director of Exhibitions, Chelsea Space

Richard Wentworth Sculptor and conceptual artist

All works will initially be viewed anonymously, online by the three judges. The resulting shortlist will then be reviewed by the 45 Park Lane Artists* who will have the option to revisit all the submissions. Out of this process will emerge the final choice of the 100 works selected for the Wells exhibition. The prizewinners  are agreed after the selected works have been curated.*The 45 Park Lane Artists are Sir Peter Blake, Brendan Neiland, Bruce McLean, Christian Furr, Joe Tilson, Martin Fuller, Patrick Hughes, Brad Faine, Donald Smith, and Tom Phillips.

The curator is Roy Ackerman.

Previous WAC judges include Anita Taylor,

Dan Hays and Janette Kerr


Earlier Event: 31 August
Aesthetica Art Prize